Jan. 8, 2008 – Introduction

A little bit about myself, first of all, I am not very good at talking about myself…

I am a stay-at-home mom turned quilt book author. I am self published and create, write, draw, sew, market, and ship right out of my house. I worked as a graphic designer back in the days when I "worked for a living". I decided to start writing books when my children were very small as a way of bringing in extra income without being away from home.

I published my first book, Grandma's Bunnies, in 2002 and have sold more than 50,000 books to date of my combined titles. My second book printed in 2003, Claire's Cats, had been my most successful title. I printed 15,000 copies and it sold out last year. I now have the sequel, Claire's Cats Volume 2, and it was published in August of 2007.

If you like applique, my books are easy one-piece patterns and I include as many different fabrics, options, and colors as I can pack into a small book.

I welcome any comments or suggestions. You are welcome to visit my website: http://www.ashtonpub.com where I have free sample patterns posted in pdf form under the description of each book such as this one. I am currently toying with the idea of making a new bunny book since the old one has been out of print for over a year and I keep getting requests for it.

If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jan. 8, 2008 – Introduction

  1. Darcy says:

    No need to feel bad, we are all friends here. It takes a while to get used to the way it is set up.

  2. felt says:

    I didn't realize until AFTER I hit post, that it was two separate posts from two separate people…duh. So thanks for sweetly replying. I feel less of an idiot now!
    Nicole

  3. I think our winters are just too mild for wool. It's not that. It seems to be pretty popular in Texas. I know I've seen a lot of it in the Houston/Galveston area. It can get kinda pricey and I think that has been the major drawback in this area. You know how cheap Okies can be.

  4. Darcy says:

    I would love to try wool felt but have not been able to find any in the local stores (Oklahoma). I think our winters are just too mild for wool. It would take a lot of the work out of it though, you wouldn't have to turn the edges.

  5. it looks like your patterns would be fantastic in wool felt. I'm sure you've already been down that avenue. That's a great idea! I know Darcy hasn't tried that yet (it's never really caught on that well here in Oklahoma) but it would be awesome. I'd love to see some samples.

  6. felt says:

    Hi! I'm new as well, it looks like your patterns would be fantastic in wool felt. I'm sure you've already been down that avenue. You're pictures and words about hunting, etc. remind me of where we have land in Maine and also where we lived when we were stationed in North Dakota.
    Talk to you soon!
    Nicole

  7. Darcy says:

    Thank you. Yes, please ask away any time. I am self-published which means I am in control, but I also have to do all the work myself. It really is a full time job.

  8. dejablu503 says:

    Darcy, welcome to the group. Sorry I missed your post on the 8th, it has been a busy month for me in Oregon. Your cat book is wonderful, have yet to look at the others. I would love to talk self publishing with you as I am considering going in this direction myself with a book and pattern idea I have had brewing in my head for some time now…

Leave a Reply

