Jan. 13, 2008 – More on the Winter Quilt Show

The 7th Annual Oklahoma City Winter Quilt Show is over and it was a great show! We were so lucky to have the weather cooperate with us this year. Last year the show was cancelled half way through the second day due to a huge ice storm that brought the city to a stand-still for nearly a week.

This year the featured artist was our own Lola Jenkins. She had a large display of original art quilts and I was truly blown away by her talent and use of color. She often used a rich collection of browns with an acid green which was stunning. An example is shown here in “Destiny’s Daughters”.

On Friday, I met up with my pal and long arm quilter, Brenda. Below is a photo of her with her Jinny Beyers quilt that she entered in the show. We had a great time shopping, visiting with vendors, and examining the quilts on display.

I spent Saturday, the third and final day of the show signing copies of my books. I was pleased to see so many of my past students and hear the stories of their quilts.

Today is Sunday and I am going to relax and spend the day with my family. I will be on the road again January 23rd when I will traveling up to the Tulsa area to speak to the Country Fare Quilters Guild in Claremore, the Trails End Quilters Guild in Owasso, and teach an all day applique class at Cyrilla’s Artful Needle in Broken Arrow. It will be 3-1/2 days away from home but I am looking forward to it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Quilt Shows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

