Feb. 1, 2008 – Another U.F.O.

Today's U.F.O. is a mouse quilt top that I made back when I was working on the first Claire's Cats book. I think I decided not to finish it because I didn't think people would like the mice or maybe they were too hard to applique because they were small. At any rate, it is still unfinished. I hung it in my sewing room this morning so, hopefully, I will be inspired to finish it once and for all.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Feb. 1, 2008 – Another U.F.O.

  1. Darcy says:

    LOL, I'm having nightmares already!

  2. John says:

    This makes me think you are not a parent :-p Nope – I am a parent's worst nightmare: an uncle with a warped sense of humor!John

  3. Darcy says:

    This makes me think you are not a parent :-p

  4. John says:

    This would make a great game quilt for a kid. Give them toy cats to chase the mice, or toy cheese to tease the mice (or maybe a hidden squeaky toy to annoy the parents). Fun!John

  5. Bring it with you Wednesday and I'll study it.

  6. Maybe it needs to be blue and yellow instead of green. I have an adorable baby quilt that I pieced but never did finish. I think it suffers from the same type of problem with the border.
    I know you have put a lot of work into it already, but I don't think you will ever be happy with it the way it is.
    Maybe it is in the value of the outside border strip. Something isn't quite right.

  7. Darcy says:

    Do I hear a volunteer?

  8. I like the border. It begs for a big splashy feather.

  9. Darcy says:

    Perhaps. Or a large scale print instead of the pieced strips. I think I was hoping for a larger scale mouse fabric but gave up and made do. Then I didn't want to finish it.

  10. The mice are adorable! Do you think you would like it better if one of the borders was a darker color, like the dark blue in the quilt?

  11. I remember that top! Those mice are so cute! Glad you dug it back out again.

Leave a Reply

