Monday, April 14 – Weekly Progress Report

I thought it might be a good idea to post a weekly progress report from the past week, just to keep myself focused.
The first project on my list was to fix Andy. He had a hole in his neck and he turned up in my cart Wednesday morning when I went to Guthrie to sew.
After I fixed Andy (his arms were coming off too) I started adding the sashing to my white rabbit quilt. 
This one has a thin black folded strip added to each block and now I am sewing on the sashing strips.
I have ten of these pastel rabbits that I am also working on. I selected large floral fabrics and am fussy cutting them to highlight the patterns. As of today, I have four of them finished and all the rest cut, marked and basted, ready to sew.
While I was working on the large floral bunnies, it occurred to me that they might be really cute done up with a combination of applique and embroidery. So I made one block with the bow appliqued and the rest of the pattern stitched as embroidery. I kind of like it…. It will look better once it is quilted. I will post another photo at that time.
That's it for this week.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Monday, April 14 – Weekly Progress Report

  1. Darcy says:

    Thanks! I have lots of ideas for more…

  2. Cheryl says:

    I really love your rabbits – they are so cute.

  3. Darcy says:

    You won't be sorry the walking foot will make all the difference in the world. I know they are expensive, but they are worth it.

  4. No, I don't. I need to go by my Bernina shop and pick one up.

  5. Darcy says:

    Do you use a walking foot? They really help with the slipping.

  6. Good advice! Some of my best work is done when I quit working and take a break. That's when I can see what needs to be done, or what needs to be changed. It always helps to get away for a few minutes, then come back and take a look from a different angle. I'm trying to stitch Xs on 2×4 inch rectangles. They keep slipping around.

  7. Darcy says:

    I don't like to work after 8:00 p.m. because I get sloppy. If it's not working, put it aside and come back later.

  8. Your bunnies are too cute! Thanks for posting the pictures. If I ever need inspiration, all I have to do is look at your work, and it makes me try harder. I was working on adding sashing to some shoo-fly blocks I made, but they weren't turning out perfect, so I had to stop.

Leave a Reply

