Photo Quest #13 – What Spring Means to Me

Why a trip to the Old Farmer's Market, of course. I feel the need to be contrary and not post photos of flowers 😉  Besides, this is the only place I went this week except that which involved work. The poor old Farmers Market has seen better days.

Read and post comments

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo Quest #13 – What Spring Means to Me

  1. Could be. We live close to a sizeable Amish population, so most local folks who want homegrown eggs, honey, etc. just drive out to their stores. I like fresh, but I usually just go to the store.

  2. Darcy says:

    Its probably a similar set-up, but this particular group stays put. The main building now has the flea market people once a month, they set up and tear down each time. Out in the open areas is the Farmers Market where the vegetables and other homegrown goodies like fresh salsa and local honey are sold.

  3. We don't have anything like that around here. We do have one old building (an old Chevy dealership) that was table space you can rent to display your treasures. I used to go in there once in awhile, and even bought a thing or two.

  4. Darcy says:

    I can't answer to how much they make, I was surprised that they were still there. I had not been out to look in years. The main building was sold several years ago and they cleaned out all the junk sellers. Apparently, most of them moved across the street.

  5. Do these places make enough to pay the rent these days? I've never stopped. I'm trying to get rid of my own "treasures"!

  6. Darcy says:

    My thoughts exactly.

  7. I recognized many of the old vendors. The book store that had all the saggy shelves that used to take up most of the center of the old building is there, That's a good shop, but not as good as Dorn's was. I miss that place.They said the big building now holds a flea market 3rd Saturday of each month.Really? I must check that out.

  8. Darcy says:

    I recognized many of the old vendors. The book store that had all the saggy shelves that used to take up most of the center of the old building is there, also the old guy with all the vintage Playboy magazines. There was one shop that had vintage '70s stuff, it was pretty cool.

  9. Guess it's time to go check it out again.

  10. Darcy says:

    The antique section was nearly full. I was surprised. I had not been there in years, but they all got moved out of the big building and into the strip section.

  11. The poor old Farmers Market has seen better days.Yup, gone are the days when I'd get up early on Saturday morning to go down there to shop and stay until it was time to close. There were so many treasures to dig through in those days. It's kinda sad to go down there now.

Leave a Reply

