The 2008 Green Country Quilt Show

This past Friday and Saturday was spent in Tulsa at the Green Country Quilt Show. And it was spectacular! I was so very pleased to see this quilt which was entered in the silent auction. You may recognize it as my avatar! It had brighter colors than my version and the machine applique and quilting were just wonderful! Take a closer look at this one by clicking on the image and enlarging it to see more detail. I didn’t see a name on it but the maker made great use of her decorative machine stitches.
I actually saw two quilts at this show made from my sunflower pattern. Here is one that was on display in Nana’s Parcels booth.
I really liked the beading in the center of this one and check out the larger image to see the cute bee pins!
I ran into Brenda and her sister Marcia on Saturday. We walked the show together and were very pleased to find this quilt:
It had a large ribbon attached to it and was machine quilted by Brenda. The quilt was large and I am posting this picture to show more of the quilting details. You can scoot over to Brenda’s blog to see the entire quilt.
We had a great time visiting with all our friends like Sherrill from the Bead Ranch in Stillwater Oklahoma. I’m always amazed at how many people I know whenever I go to one of these shows. My friend LeAnn Weaver was there too with her Quilts of Valor booth. With all the talking, I forgot to take a picture of her booth but you can see and read all about it on her blog page.
After looking through the photos of quilts that I have been collecting for a while, I am struck by the fact that I keep taking pictures of quilts with this orangish-yellow color. I seem to be drawn to this color for some reason. It’s funny but I’ve never thought of that color as being particularly pretty.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Quilt Shows and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The 2008 Green Country Quilt Show

  1. Don't forget to buy some bees from Sherrill the next time you see her. 8:-)

  2. Darcy says:

    Sherrill from the Bead Ranch e-mailed me and said that the bees on Nana's Parcels Sunflower came from her. Remind me to buy some next time I see her!

  3. If you look at the pictures I have at the top of my blog, the header, avatar, and the quilt pictures, they all have a common color scheme. I feel I'm getting into a rut! No, it's just this posting that's making you think that. It's not a rut. It's a theme. You'll notice your previous posting doesn't share this color scheme.

  4. Darcy says:

    If you look at the pictures I have at the top of my blog, the header, avatar, and the quilt pictures, they all have a common color scheme. I feel I'm getting into a rut!

  5. After looking through the photos of quilts that I have been collecting
    for a while, I am struck by the fact that I keep taking pictures of
    quilts with this orangish-yellow color. I seem to be drawn to this
    color for some reason. It's funny but I've never thought of that color
    as being particularly pretty.It's not about pretty, it's about functionality. I've never been overly fond of yellow, but as you well know I just can't seem to make a quilt without it. It doesn't take much. Just a tiny bit to spark the whole thing up. Although over the past year or so I've noticed my preference shifting over to more of an acid green. Yesterday while I was in Sherrill's booth I was seeking out bits of lace in just that color!

Leave a Reply

