Photo Quest #18 – Black and White

I have been pre-occupied this week. We are buying a house and that seems to take a lot of brain power. I did learn some new things about my camera, thanks to this quest. I did not know it had a black and white setting. It also has a sepia setting. These pictures are just quick shots from my yard and one from my neighbors flower pot.
This is my cat Sockit. She follows me around while I take pictures but I have very few of her because it is hard to take her picture while she is wrapped around my leg! I shot this one in "raw" format. Check out the close-up version and see all the detail that was captured in the raw format. I'm very excited about this feature. I can see future uses for it and plan to explore it farther. 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photo Quest #18 – Black and White

  1. Darcy says:

    Thank you. I'm already having a panic attack about all the crap I've accumulated over the past 19 years. That's how long I've been in my current house. I think it's time for a massive garage sale.

  2. Spike says:

    Congratulations! It takes some amazing skills and creativity to make a flower bloom in black and white…and even more with "the humble weed". That one was my personal favourite. Keep up the good work.

    PS congrats on your new home too. Good luck with the upcoming move and transition.

  3. Darcy says:

    Thank you very much! This was a good quest in that I learned some new things about my camera 🙂

  4. Amy Sue says:

    Congratulations on your win! I really liked the Sockit one – but the others are amazing also! 🙂

  5. Wow for being preoccupied you sure got some amazing photos here. They are all so great it is hard to say which one is better. congrats on the win

  6. Metz says:

    Congrats to you on winning, these are such beautiful photos. I think that closeup of the dandelion is AMAZING!

  7. That used to happen to me, too. I usually had to go feed him again to get him out from under my feet. He disappeared two or three weeks ago. We thought he was just catting around, but he hasn't come home yet.

  8. Darcy says:

    I had several shot I tried to take, but the cat kept rubbing on anything I pointed the camera at. Usually ended up with a picture of her backside!

  9. Darcy says:

    Thanks 🙂 She's a sweet kitty.

  10. Amy Sue says:

    I really like the one of Sockit!

  11. So beautiful! I couldn't take any pictures of my flowers in black and white because it was too windy.

  12. Emjay says:

    These are all great photos but I think I like Sockit's nose best! I have not tried "raw" photography yet …

Leave a Reply

