June 24, 2008

We won't have a photo quest for the next three weeks, we all needed a break, but I decided to challenge myself and attempt to photograph some insects in mid-air. I still need to practice but here are some of my results.
IMG_9194
IMG_9204
IMG_9193

These butterfly pictures didn't come out as well as I had hoped, but if you look very close, you can see his mouth unrolling as he approaches the flower (is he salivating?). I know it's blurry, but I have actually drawn this into a pattern and stitched it up. I will post a picture of it soon. I want to wait until after it is quilted because I want to add some quilting textures and fusible crystals to it before I call it done.
This last photo is just a Hollyhock, it has circular shaped hunks missing out of it were something thought it was tasty. I missed the bumble bee that was buzzing around, but it still made a pretty picture.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 24, 2008

  1. I used to have lots of them, but they were really late coming around this year.

  2. Darcy says:

    That would be cool. I wish we had hummingbirds.

  3. Cool pictures! I have a hard time getting insects when they are sitting still! A couple of my hummingbirds have come back. I may have to try getting a shot of them.

Leave a Reply

