Oklahoma Shop Hop

This may sound crazy to those of you who are not quilters, but yesterday Brenda, her sister Marcia, and I went on the Road to Oklahoma Shop Hop.
We left Brenda's house at 7:00 a.m. and drove for two hours, arriving at the Quilter's Depot in Waynoka when they opened the doors at 9:00 a.m.
I bought fabric for the outer border of my white rabbits quilt here in Waynoka. I'm going to try to get that quilt finished up today so I can mark it off my "to do" list.
From there we drove out to Alva, Oklahoma and shopped at Fabrics and More. I found some really great cowboy fabric here in brown and turquoise. I'm thinking of a western theme bunny quilt. I'm not sure how this will pan out but I'll post pictures later if it works.
After leaving Alva, we drove to Enid and had Chinese buffet for lunch. From there it was just a small hop over to the Prairie Quilt in Hennessey.
After Hennessey, we drove out to Perkins to The Quilting Post. Brenda found just the right fabrics to finish off my pastel bunny quilt. I'm really looking forward to getting that one sewn up, it's really going to look good.
The last shop we were able to squeeze in was Sooner Quilts in Guthrie. Michelle (the owner) has the best selection of 1930s fabrics around. I'm not quite ready to buy fabric for my pie eyed bunny quilt, but I will be back in Guthrie when I'm ready.
I made it back home for dinner and we were just ahead of these monster thunderheads:
It was a good day. We will have to do this again. Gas prices are so high, it seemed like a big expense but I have not really gone anywhere all summer and it was not too bad splitting the tab between the three of us.
This Thursday, July 3rd, I will be in Shawnee Oklahoma where I will give a presentation to the Spinning Spools Quilt Guild. On July 11, which is the following Friday, I am teaching an all day workshop in McAlester Oklahoma at Quilting by Vonnie.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oklahoma Shop Hop

  1. Darcy says:

    Too bad you are not closer. We had a good time and it was productive for me. I may be back to one or more of those stores to teach or talk to the guilds next year.

  2. Sounds like a wonderful way to spend a Saturday – good friends and fabrics! What more could you want? Glad to hear a good time was had by all. Wish I lived close enough to join you.

  3. Darcy says:

    They really did each have their own personality didn't they? Even though I bought something at each shop, I was also taking mental notes and will have to go back another day for more.

  4. It was a good day. We will have to do this again. Gas prices are so
    high, it seemed like a big expense but I have not really gone anywhere
    all summer and it was not too bad splitting the tab between the three
    of us.The gas was actually quite affordable when we split it three ways. And shop hops are always more fun with friends. All that driving gets pretty boring when you're by yourself and it's always good to have other opinions when you're trying to find just the right fabrics. Even though I was already familiar with every shop on the hop, seeing them all in such a short amount of time gives me a better feel for how their fabric selections compare with each other. I love how each shop has its own distinct personality.

Leave a Reply

