New House – Before Pictures

The house we just purchased was owned by an older couple. The wife was a painter and she added little things to almost every room in the house. Like this topiary that you see when you enter the second floor. 
Or this dragonfly added over the doorway of the breakfast room leading into the kitchen. She also painted most of the ceilings and many walls, and doors, and trim, a very deep dark blue or brown. It's a major pain trying to cover it up. I may leave a few of her special touches but it's a bit over the top. We are in the process of changing many of the dark walls. We don't want to live in a cave!
This is my fancy new bathtub. Notice how it is out in the open? There are two large windows right next to it too.
And here is the clear glass shower. Can you see the glass door between the bathroom and the bedroom? These people obviously didn't have any hang-ups about nudity. Did I mention they were in their 70's?
Maybe it would be a little different if I didn't have kids, but when I take a bath, I hide behind the shower curtain. Usually the entire family, including both cats, will be in there with me. They just won't stay out. The shower curtain is the only thing keeping me sane! I need to think about this one.
My dad has always been into fish in a major way. When he moved into his apartment several years ago, he put this in my brother's shed. He tells me every time I see him that he wants me to have it. Soooo. Now that we have room, here it is. I will get measurements today and maybe Brenda can tell me how many gallons this thing holds and how heavy it will be. We may have to add extra support for it in the basement.

Read and post comments

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Fix it up and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to New House – Before Pictures

  1. Darcy says:

    Thanks Jack — I have not been brave enough to try it out yet. I need curtains on that glass door — and some bubble-bath πŸ™‚

  2. Jack Yan says:

    [這個ε₯½]

  3. Darcy says:

    Thanks! I've got so much to do!!

  4. When are we going to Texas? Assuming you get the paper work done so that we have a booth we will be leaving here Tuesday, October 28.

  5. Probably on the outside of the door because of steam and moisture. The moisture isn't going to hurt it. Put it on the inside. If it's on the outside it's as good as useless as nosy people can just push it aside to look in.This fish tank is 20" tall, 72" long, and 18" deep (thick). How many gallons is this?

  6. Darcy says:

    Oh… I have an invitation to be a big shot at a Waynoka quilt retreat in October. Thursday through Sunday. When are we going to Texas? I knew that shop hop would yield and invitation to come back. They are offering to pay for everything πŸ™‚ They seem to like me better the farther away I go.

  7. Darcy says:

    Oh you read my mind! I'm also thinking of a tension rod top and bottom of this door with a gathered curtain between. Probably on the outside of the door because of steam and moisture.This fish tank is 20" tall, 72" long, and 18" deep (thick). How many gallons is this?

  8. But adding one sounds like a good idea. And if Greg gives you any grief about wanting to do it just call me. Ken and I will be more than happy to come over and do it for you! 8:-)

  9. Darcy says:

    There is no lock. But adding one sounds like a good idea. The other day I had both cats and Claire, then Christopher came in with the cell phone…. someone else wanting something. They are too old for this nonsense.

  10. Maybe it would be a little different if I didn't have kids, but when I
    take a bath, I hide behind the shower curtain. Usually the entire
    family, including both cats, will be in there with me. They just won't
    stay out. The shower curtain is the only thing keeping me sane! I need
    to think about this one.You are no longer going to be living in a ONE bathroom house. It's time for your family to learn about boundaries. If you want privacy while you are taking a bath they need to learn to respect that and give it to you. This is non-negotiable. If there's not a lock on the bathroom door already, add one! It may be rough going at first, but they will adjust.

Leave a Reply

