Zolalee Gaylor

For those of you who do not know her — this is Zolalee Gaylor. She is the absolute queen of applique and she is the woman who taught me everything I know.
Last night she gave a presentation to the Central Oklahoma Quilters Guild and it was a real treat! I have uploaded lots of photos and, they do not do these quilts justice, but double click on each one to see more detail. It will take your breath away.
Last spring I taught a class at the State Retreat and Zolalee signed up to be one of my students. I stayed awake all night the night before trying to think up something new that I could teach her. She did learn a few new tricks with freezer paper.
I love the way her face lit up when she was bragging about me last night :-D 
This is the block she made in my class.
She saved my quilt for last and called me her "star pupil"… I was misty eyed!
Many of her former students brought in their quilts and told us how long it took them to finish them. I am ashamed to say mine was the only loose top. All the others were quilted.
IMG_9491IMG_9493IMG_9496

IMG_9499IMG_9500IMG_9501

IMG_9503IMG_9504IMG_9505IMG_9506

My daughter, Claire, was born during the time I was working on her birth block. It is the first one on the first row. She was born on the 4th of July. Christopher came along later. I just recently added his name to the last block on the last row.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Zolalee Gaylor

  1. Darcy says:

    Thanks! A "loose top" is a completed top but that is all. I have the top finished but it has not yet been layered with batting and a backing fabric or quilted, which is the tiny stitches that hold all the layers together.

  2. Wonderful to see such beautiful work!!
    'Scuse my ignorance of quilting, but what's a "loose top"?

  3. none says:

    I bet!My Mom has quilted alot before, and knitting.

  4. none says:

    All nice designs!Awe..about misty eyed…she looks like an excellent Teacher!

  5. Darcy says:

    Come on out!! She's still teaching, can you believe it? She's a wonderful woman. She teaches hand applique and hand quilting.

  6. How lucky you are to have her so close! I'm going to have to move out there with you.

  7. Darcy says:

    She's been teaching for decades. She is a local icon.

  8. Wow! What beautiful quilts! Looks like a lot of folks were inspired by her.

  9. Darcy says:

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

