The Applique Process

I have some new two-color bunnies in the works and I thought it might be a good opportunity to show the process rather than just the end result. This top photo shows the fabric pieces with the pattern marked on the top. I use a plain #2 pencil for light colored fabrics. My favorite tool for dark fabrics is the white Clover marking pen. It does not rub off when you are working, and it disappears the first time you press it with an iron.
After I turn the edges under, I come back with some embroidery to bring out the details. For these blocks, I outlined all the white areas, right up against the edge of the fabric, to give it additional contrast. I have details drawn on the butterfly wings with the white Clover pen. I intend to use clear mono-filament thread to quilt it, adding texture to the wings. I also plan to attach fusible crystals to the butterflies for eyes and wing spots when the quilt is finished.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Applique Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Applique Process

  1. Yes, please. I would love to know.

  2. Darcy says:

    Thank you. I know everyone can't take my class, and I don't mind showing how it's done. I need to have a step by step on the eyes. That is what most people want to know about.

  3. I love these bunnies! I didn't think you could improve on the other ones, but I think you have. And thanks so much for showing the process. It is very interesting.

Leave a Reply

