Hand Quilting

When adding a quilting motif to a quilt, the first step is to transfer the pattern to your quilt. I have two favorite tools. The first is freezer paper, the second is a white Clover pen.

After selecting my design, I draw it onto a piece of freezer paper and cut it out. Then I use a ruler to make sure it is in the proper position.
IMG_9882

 

 

 

 

When you press freezer paper with an iron, it sticks to your fabric temporarily. You can peel it up and re-use it for all four corners.
IMG_9883

 

 

 

 

Having the paper stuck to your quilt allows you to trace right up against the edge of the paper. I like to use this white Clover pen because it gives you a sharp crisp line that will disappear completely when you are finished.

 

 

 

IMG_9884

 

 

 

 

The freezer paper peels up easily once the lines are marked. Re-use the same paper for all four corners.
IMG_9885

 

 

 

 

Now you can simply quilt directly on top of the line. I am taking Brenda’s advice and am using black thread for this quilt. When you are finished, press with a hot iron and all the white lines disappear!
IMG_9886

 

 

 

 

This quilt is from my book “Bunnies and More“.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

 

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Applique Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Hand Quilting

  1. Charlotte says:

    will the lead pencil come off after it goes through the washer

  2. Phyllis Miller says:

    Another wonderful tip from you. Thanks Darcy. This is very good to know.

  3. Thanks, Darcy! All the other directions that I have seen assumed that you knew the basics, which I don't.

  4. Darcy says:

    I forgot to mention that the freezer paper is easy to see through, so you put it directly over the pattern and trace right on the paper, dull side.

  5. Darcy says:

    Oh good questions!The freezer paper is shiny on one side, dull on the other. You draw on the dull side and place it shiny side down when you press it. The shiny coating is what makes it stick. It's good stuff. I use it for everything. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. You girls and your pens! How funny. LOL Thanks for the quilting lesson. Does it matter which side of the freezer paper you use? Which side do you draw on? Do you draw directly onto the freezer paper, or do you practice first? I have read about using freezer paper, but didn't know how to go about it. I like the black thread on the green fabric. I don't think I would have thought about doing that.

  7. Darcy says:

    I'm pretty sure that's the one I have. It's only thin when it's "juicy" and it gets dry in a hurry. I just like the white one better.

  8. I have both those pens, I just don't like them as well. I really like the thin line. Well, then you don't have the blue one that I linked to. It makes a line just as fine as your white pen.

  9. Darcy says:

    It was still a good suggestion. Great minds think alike! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. LBeeeze says:

    Drats….I should have know you'd already tried that…

  11. Darcy says:

    I have both those pens, I just don't like them as well. I really like the thin line.

  12. Darcy says:

    I have tried to contact them in the past, but the e-mail bounced. I have several sponsors that provide me with free product in exchange for promoting their products. That would be sweet too.

  13. The white pen only works on dark fabrics. I wish they would develop one for light fabrics. Use either the blue or purple erasable pens on light fabric. The purple will disappear on its own, the blue must be removed with cold water. They are both just as safe as the white pen.

  14. LBeeeze says:

    The white pillow looks so cozy. You should write to the manufacturer of the white pen and ask if they have a dark version for use on lighter fabrics, and if not, do they plan to market one soon. You might be surprised by the response. : )

  15. Darcy says:

    Here is another example using this same technique. But on this one I used a lead pencil. Then I had to send it through the washer. The white pen only works on dark fabrics. I wish they would develop one for light fabrics.

  16. Darcy says:

    I've never used cornstarch. Next time you do that, I'll have to pay attention.I drew some hearts on the four black outer border squares. I think I'll switch to green thread so it will show up better. I'll post a picture later.

  17. That's an excellent method. I'll have to show it to my students. But personally, for something that small and temporary I still prefer a cornstarch pounce.

  18. Darcy says:

    Thank you very much.

  19. LBeeeze says:

    Wow…you make it look so easy. Your stitches are so nice and even. I never heard of the white clover pen. What a great tool.

Leave a Reply

