More on Hand Quilting

I've been on a hand quilting kick here lately. This time I have added little hand stitched butterflies to some of the blank spots in my blocks, then I filled in the rest of the block with stipple quilting on the machine. 

Here it is, step by step:

I have a white background this time, so I used the water soluble blue marker(1) to trace around a freezer paper pattern. Since this is so small, I did not take the time to press it down with an iron. I simply held it in place and traced around it.
I hand basted around my marked pattern to keep the layers from shifting, then hand quilted right on top of the blue lines.
A little bit of water and a rag removes the blue marks as shown here.
I use a darning foot to add some free-motion stipple quilting around the motif. As the water dried, a small amount of the blue markings re-appeared. Simply dab at it again with water and they will clear right up.
(1) Thanks Brenda πŸ˜‰

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Applique Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to More on Hand Quilting

  1. Darcy says:

    Thanks πŸ™‚ To me it is relaxing.It gives me something to do with my hands while I'm in front of the television.

  2. Bigma says:

    That is such a lot of effort! (to me! cos I can't imagine doing all that –> lack of patience)… but the result is so amazing! Yup, the bunnies one! I love that! so cuuuttteeeee πŸ˜›

  3. Darcy says:

    Thank you Jordan,Cross stitch will make you cross-eyed :-)I never could finish cross stitch either, quilting is a bit better in that you have more to show for the hard work.

  4. Jordan says:

    That's a lot of good work. I wish I had the patience to crosstich. Tried is as a teen, and then as an adult, but I never seem to finish whatever I started.

  5. Darcy says:

    Thanks Emjay, it is easy. It's nothing more than a series of baby steps.

  6. Emjay says:

    You make it sound so easy!! Looks great!

  7. LBeeeze says:

    So many really cute things at that link. Thanks !!

  8. Darcy says:

    Thanks! You should give it a try someday. I've got some free patterns on my website.

  9. LBeeeze says:

    I love the little clouds that were created by the stipple quilting…and the big yellow bunny made of bunnies….how cute !!

Leave a Reply

