Happy New Year!

I know it’s two weeks after the fact, but I’m finally back on-line. So what have I been up to? The short answer is lots. First of all, we finally moved into our new/old house on Christmas Eve. We bought a “This Old House” last June and it  needed lots of work.

Here is a photo of a corner near the stairs. I took this picture this morning. I was looking for a nice shot that wasn’t filled with moving boxes, and this was as good as it gets.
I also attended the Winter Quilt Show last week. I was promoting my new rabbit book and the Fracture book I published for Brenda along with a couple of small patterns. The show was great! I was so busy that I never took a single photograph even though I was there all three days with my camera.
The big hit of the show was Brenda’s Fabulous Fractures book. I think she has hand cramps from all the autographing.
Surprisingly, the second biggest hit was my little Dresden plate quilt pattern. I don’t even have this one for sale on my website. I better fix that!

After the quilt show I splurged on an antique (looking) table. We’ve been eating off of a folding card table. It was a happy accident when we drove past an estate sale during one of the trips back and forth between the houses with the trailer attached. It was last Sunday and everything at this Estate sale was 1/2 price.

I fell in love with this table. It has an extra leaf. That’s the leaf leaning against the wall. It also has carved lion feet with claws!
The only other fun I have to report was New Year’s Day. We took a break and drove out to the Wichita Mountains. My mom came out from Broken Arrow and we all had a great day just getting away from it all despite the cold and wind.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Darcy says:

    Thrilled to "meet" you Amy!!My husband is putting a floor in my studio right now. You may have seen the lights on up there late at night? lol.

  2. Amy says:

    sorrry…the rest of my post was deleted when I signed in to Vox. In short…..I am a neighbor. I live three houses down, I think. 1012. I found your blog after I heard we had a nationally known quilter moving in down the street. I stay home with my 2 and 3 year old. I started sewing and knitting during my first "nesting" period. I have taken more to knitting than sewing, but I am planning to take some sewing lessons when I have some time. I wanted to learn to sew to make quilts. Needless, to say I am thrilled to have you and your beautiful family on the street. I will pop down and say hi on one of these warm days.

  3. Amy says:

    I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.

  4. Darcy says:

    Thanks Zak.The house will be real pretty once we get settled in and everything put away. It still has a long way to go. I don't know the exact year it was built, we think it was in the 19-teens. They didn't leave room for a refrigerator in the kitchen.

  5. Darcy says:

    Thanks Karen — I've been out of touch for too long!

  6. Nice banister! Great to see your family- have a great 2009.

  7. Karen Lynn says:

    Love your pictures :)) And if I sewed, I sure would want that pattern…so freaking cute!

  8. Darcy says:

    It was a great sale :-)Glad to meet you too!

  9. Glad I was able to meet you at the quiltshow!
    All estate sales are usually 1/2 off on Sundays.

Leave a Reply

