Photo Quest #44 – Pet Photos

Our old male cat, Pumpkin. He's a redhead with freckles. He is sitting in front of my computer screen, looking out the window at the sleet coming down outside. The flowers behind him are another one of my photos. The camera was set on the automatic "no flash" setting.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Photo Quest #44 – Pet Photos

  1. Darcy says:

    Oh good! Heading over to check it out…

  2. Great Darcy I have so missed seeing your wonderful photos. Check out this week's quest I just posted it.

  3. Darcy says:

    Thank you very much. We have settled into our new house now and hopefully I will have more leisure time to enjoy my camera again.

  4. Great work on this photo Darcy! Missed seeing your photos and it is so nice to have you back!
    You have captured you cat's eyes prefectly in this photo! You can see the intent and interest in his eyes and your camera did a great job as the eyes are so crisp and clear.
    The background is perfect and I read through the post to see that you waited for the right background and the right pose from your beautiful cat. This is a photo you should be very proud of.

  5. Darcy says:

    ROFLOL!! noooo. I'm just more patient than you, remember?

  6. TedWest says:

    Right, and here I was thinking you used Mighty Mendit to keep the cat in place!?!

  7. Darcy says:

    LOL — no. The cat is not stuffed! I had forgotten that patience is not one of your virtues. Never mind 🙂

  8. TedWest says:

    dust off my camera? You really don't know how I live. Perhaps this will help:

    Ninety-seven 97 percent of respondents said they were not willing to give up home access to the Internet; 92 percent were said they would not give up their cable or satellite TV service; 90 percent said they would not give up their cellphone service
    I just won 38 bucks. That's six months of Internet service for me, so why would ninety-seven percent of people even give a thought to giving up theirs?
    92% wouldn't give up cable? I said just yesterday that I planned to get rid of it this year, and it will be no sacrifice since I once went a year without even looking at a TV.
    And 90% wouldn't give up cellphone service? What's that? My wife had this little toy that I heard her talking into once, could that be it?
    And I just remembered a guy I talked to this week who asked, "Is there another number I can reach you at?" I replied, "I don't know why you mean," and it had nothing to do with his grammar!
    As for your composition, again you minimize your effort? Just sitting there as long as it took would make it unfeasible if not unthinkable for me, And what about the cat? It's not stuffed, right? So everything had to come together just right for you to get that shot, not to mention that I'd never think a cat would make for a good photo, and I think I speak for most people!?!

  9. Darcy says:

    lol, see? You know I sat there for quite a while watching the photos cycle through and waiting for one with "just the right color" to complement him! Dust off that camera and join the PhotoQuest it's a lot of fun.

  10. TedWest says:

    That minimizes your creative effort. It needed to be the right picture with your cat in the right place at the right time and you catching the scene just right. Fantastic!
    I had a long ago friend who took pictures on his honeymoon in Hawaii that were similarly brilliant, and it motivated me to get my own camera. Then I even took a course, but I could never match Ron – and now, you.

  11. Darcy says:

    Thank you Karen. He's kind of an old beat up cat. He's starting to show his age.

  12. Darcy says:

    Thank you! He was sitting in front of my computer screen. The flowers are part of the computer background. I have it set to rotate through my photos when I'm not using it.

  13. Darcy says:

    Thank you! I love cats too.

  14. Karen Lynn says:

    Love the eyes! Great shot Darcy!

  15. TedWest says:

    That's absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

