Another Experimental Pattern

I made this block today. It is different in that I made it’s mane and tail from loose threads.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Another Experimental Pattern

  1. Darcy says:

    I will. It might take me a little while. I have a lot on my plate right now.

  2. Thanks! Be sure to post a picture.

  3. Darcy says:

    LOL — o.k.I like the embroidery floss idea. It is just the right weight.

  4. What about embroidery floss? I like your idea of braiding it. If it is a little girl horse, you could use a bow, and if it is a little boy horse, you could use a knot, then tack it down. You could do the same thing with the mane, like they do with show horses. You would have to leave the strings long so you could braid them, then cut them off short after you tie them off. You wouldn't have to tack them down. Give it a try and post a picture for us!

  5. Darcy says:

    Thank you Betty 🙂

  6. Darcy says:

    What if I braided it, then put a little bow at the bottom and tacked the bow down? For this one I pulled threads from the same fabric used in the horse. I may want to use some thicker cording.

  7. Braiding is an idea. You'll come up with something.

  8. Darcy says:

    I was thinking about braiding it or tacking it down at the bottom somehow. It's definitely not for babies.

  9. I would be concerned about how it was going to hold up, but if it is for a quilt that will just be displayed and not used, I think it's terrific!

  10. Darcy says:

    Yes, more or less. More like the bunnies and cats. I didn't know if I liked this one with the loose tail but the ladies in my class yesterday loved it. That's why it is an experiment!

  11. I suppose that is true. Mine was a rather generic beagle. Could have been a hound dog! I guess horses are more or less all the same.

  12. Darcy says:

    My problems with the dogs was that I was drawing specific breeds and each one had to be true and accurate.

  13. I used to be able to draw a respectable dog, a beagle actually, but cows and horses have always baffled me.

  14. Darcy says:

    I've always found horses to be very easy to draw. I perfected them back when I was a teenager. Of all the animals I've done so far, the dogs were the hardest for me.

  15. This is good! Do you start with a picture or something, or do you just start drawing. I have never been able to draw a horse.

  16. LBeeeze says:

    It's quite lovely !!!

Leave a Reply

