Baby Quilt

I made this quilt out of two 5″ charm packs. Each charm pack had 40 charms each. I cut 20 of them into fourths for the corner squares, and I cut 40 of them in half for the sashing strips. This yielded twenty 8-1/2″ blocks. The horse is a soft fuzzy flannel and I blew up the pattern to fill an entire fat quarter. I’ll post a picture of the entire quilt once it has been quilted…. Here is the completed Pattern.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Baby Quilts, Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Baby Quilt

  1. Darcy says:

    YW — take care.

  2. I'll be ready to buy the new book as a late Christmas gift for myself! TY for letting me know.

  3. I can't wait to see your *newest* book Darcy! I make LOTS of baby quilts!

  4. Darcy says:

    Your book sounds like it will be a big hit! It also sounds like someone who knows how shop owners think might have been involved 😉

  5. That was our thinking too. Get shops kitting them up! Our whole book's theme is basically charm packs from Nickels or Dimes and FQ packs. We just put applique letters on it spelling out You Love Me, I Love You in a sort of crossword puzzle effect. None of our quilts are really "new-wowzer" quilts, just good scrappy charm pack type patterns that anyone can do.
    I REALLY, REALLY love that colt!

  6. Darcy says:

    I haven't seen the insides of your book yet. I was trying to figure out a way to use charm packs and make this into a pattern so shops could kit it easily. My main thing that I want to sell is the horse pattern. I made the quilt top in one afternoon. It took two days to put the horse on it.

  7. That is so sweet! We used the same piecing pattern in our book. We called it Baby Nickels. Very fast and easy. Looks adorable with that precious colt appliqued on top!! Love it!

  8. Can you do pantograph quilting and avoid sewing on the horse? Yes and no. Yes, I can put a pantograph on the quilt and avoid the horse, but the process of reworking the design to do so makes the job custom.

  9. This is wonderful! You are so creative! I need to do some quilting!!

  10. Darcy says:

    Thanks. I have a question for you. Can you do pantograph quilting and avoid sewing on the horse?

Leave a Reply

