Singer 221 Featherweight

I recently purchased this Singer Featherweight from Nancy’s Trunk at a quilt show. It has been refurbished and has all new belts and cords. I really like it, it sews beautifully.

Here is a little beanbag frog I made with it, just playing around.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Sewing Room and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Singer 221 Featherweight

  1. Hillary says:

    do you still have the pattern or sell the frogs on etsy?

  2. Darcy says:

    Thank you, Tea.I bought a new / reproduction table for mine. I was happy to find it.

  3. Tea says:

    [das ist gut]

  4. Darcy says:

    You are quite welcome.

  5. Thanks Darcy, I'm excited to get them.

    Maureen

  6. Darcy says:

    Oh! Thanks 🙂 I'm glad they are going to a good home. I'll include the pattern with the frogs when I send them. You can make as many as you want.

  7. OK will do but I just ordered the frogs from your Etsy account..they were too cute to pass up.
    Maureen

  8. Darcy says:

    This is a pattern I made myself, send me your e-mail in a PM and I'll send you a pdf. I have a couple frogs listed on my Etsy page. Here's a link.

  9. I'm going to make some bean bag frogs for the grandkids…thanks for the idea. Now I have to find a pattern.
    I didn't know about the old Singers being in demand. My mother was a quilter and I have a beautiful wedding ring quilt she made for me. I even picked out the colors and fabrics for this quilt. It was a hard quilt for her to make as we didn't agree on colors so working with my colors made the job harder for her. Not sure I said that right…if the quilt was colors she liked the work would have been easier for her. I have a couple of wall hanging she quilted and I treasure them.

  10. Darcy says:

    These machines, this particular model, are highly sought after in the quilting community. They sew perfectly, even after all these years and they are so portable! I wanted this one to take to my Wednesday sew day. This way I don't have to lug my big heavy machine up and down stairs, I just grab the little one that fits in it's little case. Also, I learned to sew as a kid in the '70s making beanbag frogs. They make great gifts for little visitors.

  11. What a pretty toy! I didn't know that anyone refurbished these old beauties. That is so cool that you made a frog with your new toy. I used to have a lot of those bean bag frogs. They were the rage back in the 70's.

Leave a Reply

