Another Fix-It Project

Here is another little project I just finished. I didn’t get a “before” picture, but this poor thing had badly peeling paint and the spindles were broken. It was one step away from the trash can. The only thing that saved it was the fact that it was stamped GERMANY on the bottom. So I bought a new dowel and cut new spindles, then I drilled out the holes and glued them in place. Then I spray painted it black.

Glued and PaintedUnderneath

After that, I made a pincushion out of a Gatoraide lid. It just happened to be the exact size as the hole in the center. I drilled a hole in the Gatoraide lid before converting it into a pincushion. Then I bolted it to the thread holder as you can see in the underneath photo. The felt pads were then necessary to give the bolt clearance. You can double click on the photos to zoom in on details.

I think it turned out well. I like the way it looks with my Featherweight and I think I’ll get a lot of use out of it. I’m glad I took the time to fix it up. This last picture is another thread thing that I fixed up several years ago and have been using ever since. I added the pincushion “wings”.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Fix it up and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Another Fix-It Project

  1. Darcy says:

    Blaaa! I'm sure he'd rather not.

  2. I think he realizes that he would have a hard time without me to do the cooking. He could always drink Ensure and buy babyfood!

  3. Darcy says:

    That's good. He's lucky to have you there to care for him.

  4. No, thank goodness. Most of the time I work 32 hours a week in four days, so I should have three days off. I get quite a bit done when I have three days off in a row, but not so much when they are spread out. Having kids and school activities does take a lot of time. I'm getting better and faster at fixing things that hubby can eat. It will always take more time than it used to, but I don't mind.

  5. Darcy says:

    I used to do this sort of thing all the time but not so much since the kids came along. I feel for you in regards to your husband. Are you working full time?

  6. That's good. I have to be in the right frame of mind to tackle projects like that. My biggest fix-up project this year was going through all of our photo albums and replacing all the photos that had been pulled out for the past 10 years or so for class projects, wedding slide shows, etc. Most of my spare time now is spent fixing special meals for my hubby, but in this case, it is a life or death adventure. His length of life and quality of life are directly related to the food I fix for him. He can do some things for himself, but the level of expertise needed for most of the recipes is more than he can handle. At least he likes left-overs so I can make a double batch and he can eat the extra on days that I work.

  7. Darcy says:

    Thanks, me too. I've been on a fix-it-up kick lately.

  8. Aren't you the clever one! Good job. I do like to reuse things when I can.

Leave a Reply

