Wool Penny Rug

Here is another wool penny rug that I finished up this afternoon. I think I’m addicted to these things! For this one I used 1″, 2″, and 3″ circles on 4″ background squares. Then I lashed the squares together with cross-stitches on the front and back. I used smaller pennies cut 1-1/4″, and 3/4″ to cover the corners where the background squares met. I was thinking about making this thing big. Big enough to use as a throw, but I stopped at nine squares because I really need to get back to making real quilts. I’ll probably use this one as a centerpiece on my kitchen table. Either that or I will sell it in my Etsy store.

This is the back

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications
This entry was posted in Patterns, Wool Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wool Penny Rug

  1. Donna Miller says:

    Oh, I LOVE this!!!

  2. Georjana Mauldin says:

    Hey, that looks like it would cost more than a penny to make!! Very nice.

    PS – Darcy – have you ever taught a class on your paper cut work book?

    • Darcy says:

      Ha-ha! With the price of wool today, you bettcha.
      I taught a paper cut class or two way back when Nancy and Anne had Patchwork Place, but not lately. Are you interested? Talk to Billie 😉

Leave a Reply

