Locker Hooker Rag Rugs

I found a new way to use up a whole bunch of crap scraps…. make a rug out of them!

The locker hook looks like a crochet hook on one end but it has a large eye on the other. You thread cotton twine through the eye and pull 1″ fabric strips up through the canvas with the hook. Super easy and fun.

What you need to get started is a Locker Hook, some heavy cotton twine (see photo below), a rug foundation like those used for latch hook rugs, and a bunch of 1″ fabric strips. Most of the supplies are easy to come by except the hooks so I’ve made it easy on you, I have the hooks in my Etsy store here.

You begin by folding about 2 rows of holes of the edge of the rug foundation under on all four sides. Loop some 1″ strips around the folded edge all the way around. This finishes the outside edge. Then, with the fabric on the back and a long piece of cotton twine threaded through the hook, begin pulling loops of fabric through the holes in the foundation. Stack them up on the tool as shown below. Then pull the thread through the loops and repeat. That’s pretty much all there is to it, fun and easy!

Finished Rug

Here is the finished rug. It can be supper scrappy or planned. Your choice. The size is dependent upon the foundation piece that you work with.

Another fun rug idea is using old wool scraps to make Wool Penny Rugs. I love these! I have lots of pre-cut circles on Etsy if you want to dabble in making one of your own.

il_fullxfull.247211883
IMG_5744
Rug & Book

Find the Valentine Book Here.

Not sure how to make a Wool Penny Rug? Here is a .pdf download pattern — It’s easy!

Penny Rug cover

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About Darcy

Author/Owner -- Ashton Publications -- Teacher, Artist, Public Speaker, Publisher --
This entry was posted in Applique Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Locker Hooker Rag Rugs

  1. Nia Lorre says:

    Crap scaps made me chuckle. They turned into a great rug. And junked out? Pshah. Your craft area looks pristine to me!

    Like

  2. Deb Richey says:

    Need a video to show how the rug is made. The explanation is too vague.

    Like

  3. cora says:

    Great job can you crochet yarn

    Like

  4. cora says:

    I. Love it what of. Yarn did you can you. use crochet yarn

    Like

  5. Can you use yarn I always seem to have a bunch yarn balls of random colors of yarn . I tried doing a jacobs ladder of color style blanket . I wasn’t feeling it . Let me I would a new idea. Happy crafting .

    Like

  6. Darcy says:

    Thanks for the links. I'll have to take a picture of my last rug. It looks like a crazy quilt. I added eyelash yarn along side of the fabric strips and hooked them together so that it has extra texture.

    Like

  7. maureen says:

    try http://www.mcgtextiles.com they sell the supplies for locker hooking they should have the books by Kathleen Carpenter. I have 3 of them Kathleens fabric lockerhooking,Kathleens fabric locker hooking advanced techniques, and Christmas with Kathleen's fabric locker hooking

    Like

  8. Darcy says:

    Maureen,Fleece would be good, it would feel great on your feet! This was my first attempt, I've made several more since. I really like them.

    Like

  9. maureen says:

    you can find the hook and some kits and the canvas at Jo Anns a small group of us got together this winter and taught ourselves how to locker hook my 80 year old mother loves it and my 7 year old grandaughter enjoys it also a group of 8 of us have had a fun winter learning most like using yarn with it I kinda like the material and am thinking of using fleece

    Like

  10. Darcy says:

    Country,I found this one… Link

    Like

  11. I did a little bit of looking online but didn't find anything. Is it called "Locker Hooker"?

    Like

  12. Darcy says:

    The first couple of rows are a little tough because you have to go through several layers of canvas. But after that, it's pretty easy.The kids helped make this one. Claire made several rows and Christopher joined the scraps together for me.

    Like

  13. I'll look around on the web and see if anyone sells the stuff on line, then I'll give her a call. It looks like so much fun, and heaven knows I have lots of scraps. It might even be something my sister-in-law could do. Do you think you could do it if you only have one good hand? She can work with plastic canvas. I'm always looking for new ideas for her to give her something to do. Thanks for the info!

    Like

  14. Darcy says:

    HA! I just cut scraps willy-nilly and didn't pay a lick of attention to which piece went where. They all come out looking different too, that's the fun part.

    Like

  15. LBeeeze says:

    You just have the knack to put it all together and have it look so nice.

    Like

  16. Darcy says:

    She doesn't have a website, but if you called her and told her you know me, I'm sure she would be happy to fix you up. She has the hooks, twine, and canvas. You supply your own scraps.Itchin' to be Stitchin' (405) 258-2003

    Like

  17. I want one! Does Shirley sell the instructions and supplies on line?

    Like

  18. Darcy says:

    Thanks LB,It's very scrappy. I did not plan a thing, I just put strips of fabrics together willy-nilly until it was finished.

    Like

  19. LBeeeze says:

    I love the rug!! The rectangular shape is very interesting.

    Like

Leave a comment